Yes we have a famous battlefield to tour by car, bicycle, horseback, and even on foot but we boast a wealth of activities beyond those historic acres.
From historic taverns to ethnic cuisine, farm-to-table dining to unique edibles, the tastes of Gettysburg are sure to please every palate.
With adventures to suit every budget, Gettysburg and Adams County businesses offer plenty of packages to help visitors create their dream vacations.
Stop by Fairfield, just eight miles southwest of Gettysburg, for a historic holiday self-guided tour. Eleven historic properties are featured on the tour and will be open for viewing, decorated for the holidays! To order tickets, make checks payable and mail to: FAHS, PO Box 263, Fairfield, Pa 17320. Please call Camille Cline at 717-642-6540 for more information.
The stops along the tour are as follows:
1. Lower Marsh Creek Presbyterian Church - 1865 Knoxlyn Road, Rt#116, S W of Gettysburg
The original church was erected in 1790. Remodeling was done in 1859 and 1891. This property was used as a Civil War hospital. Artifacts will be on display during the tour.
2. St. Mary's Roman Catholic Church - 12 E Main Street, Fairfield
The lot was purchased in 1852 and corner stone was set. In 1904, the church was greatly altered and expanded. Originally, there was a cemetery in the rear of the church, but it has since been removed. The property is now an Air B&B.
3. St. John's Lutheran Church - 13 E Main St., Fairfield
Built in 1854, this church was originally named Zion Lutheran Church. It was used as a hospital during the Civil War for both Union and Confederate soldiers.
4. Fairfield Inn - 15 W. Main St., Fairfield
The original section of this historic property was built in the late 1700's. It is one of the oldest operating inns in America. The Inn was originally the mansion house of Squire Miller, the original founder of the town.
5. Fairfield Battersby Law Office - 20 W Main Street, Fairfield
The current brick structure was built circa 1875 by a medical doctor as both his residence and office. A few original windows remain, all the woodwork, two slate fireplaces with faux marble, some light switches and the doorbell on the side porch. Some furniture pieces are reproductions and some are antiques from the Victorian period.
6. 22 N Miller Street, 1 block off Main Street
This home was built in 1890 by Professor Charles A. Landis, a school professor who taught at the small schoolhouse in Fairfield. The home has many of its original features; the fireplace in the former family room (now the kitchen), the fireplaces in the dining and living rooms, the transoms above two of the doors on the first floor and the stained glass transom in the upstairs hallway are original to the home.
7. Fairfield Village Hall - 108 W. Main St., Fairfield
The current structure was built in 1905. This building served for many years as a schoolhouse. It is now the office of the Fairfield Borough. Vintage Christmas items will be displayed. Cookies and punch will be available at this property. Restrooms are also available.
8. 113 W. Main Street, Fairfield
The rear of this historic building is the oldest, built circa 1840. The front was built circa 1858 and there have been 20th and 21st century additions since then. This brick two-story home is filled with period furnishings. It is the former residence of blacksmiths Thomas Newman and Samuel Smith. Discover early Victorian holiday traditions in the parlors and keeping room.
9. 120 W. Main St, Fairfield
Built circa 1865, this brick building contained an agricultural implements store. On the front of the house near the roof line the remnants of where the original pulley hung.
10. Mennonite Church - 201 W. Main St., Fairfield
The original chapel area at was erected in 1904 by The Christian Church. Mennonites purchased the building in 1927 and Fairfield Mennonite was established. Many changes have been made throughout the years. We continue the tradition of simply using live greens and poinsettias to decorate each Christmas season. Come in, sit a spell and ask about the history of the congregation. May you all have a very merry Christmas and a blessed New Year!
11. 5680 Fairfield Road, 1 mile from Fairfield on Rt 116
At the time of the Revolution, the property was owned by The McCracken “Aberdeen” Family (1765). The mountain was called McKees Hill. We believe the house is circa 1850 as the house appears on the county and township maps after that year. John and Susan Mussellman, Jr - 11/28/1814, believed to be the builder of the current house.