Click here to return to DestinationGettysburg.com Home Page

Steam Into History, Inc.

Old #17 is a faithful replica of the Civil War steam engine that carried Abraham Lincoln to his now famous Gettysburg Address. Located in New Freedom, PA, Steam Into History is a train attraction that chronicles the ride taken by Lincoln, and tells the story of the towns and villages he passed along the way. Riders will also hear about the skirmish at Hanover Junction prior to the Battle of Gettysburg.

The York #17 offers 2 ½ hour round trip excursions from New Freedom, to Hanover Junction PA, Tuesday through Sunday throughout the summer. The Glen Rock Express is designed to give visitors an option of a shorter one hour trip.

There are many special events and excursions that include living historians, musicians and a combination of the two. For additional information or to purchase tickets, please visit our website at www.steamintohistory.com.

This facility is handicapped accessible.

http://www.steamintohistory.com

Contact Information
Address: 2 West Main Street
New Freedom, PA 17349
Phone: 717-942-2370
Phone (Alt): 717-600-6535
Email: info@SteamIntoHistory.com
Website: http://www.steamintohistory.com
Hours
Call 717-942-2370 or visit our website at Steamintohistory.com for the schedule of excursions. Open Tuesday-Sunday Daily 9:00 a.m.5:30 p.m. Schedule in the fall varies.
Events
Eggspecially Fun Bunny Run - Diesel
Saturday, March 28, 2015 until
Sunday, March 29, 2015
Childrens Programs Event
Eggspecially Fun Bunny Run - Diesel
Friday, April 03, 2015 until
Saturday, April 04, 2015
Childrens Programs Event
Reading Express Diesel at the Glen Rock Library
Thursday, April 09, 2015
Train Ride Event
The Great Train Robbery Duo
Sunday, April 12, 2015
Train Ride Event
The James-Younger Gang, Train Robbery for Charity
Saturday, April 18, 2015
Fundraiser Event
Kent Courtney
Saturday, April 25, 2015
Train Ride Event
Kent Courtney
Sunday, April 26, 2015
Train Ride Event
Corsets, Crinolines and Conspiracies
Sunday, May 03, 2015
Train Ride Event
Murder Mystery Train
Saturday, May 09, 2015
Murder Mystery Event
The Great Train Robbery Duo
Sunday, May 10, 2015
Train Ride Event
General Grant
Sunday, May 17, 2015
Train Ride Event
General and Mrs. Lee
Saturday, May 30, 2015 until
Sunday, May 31, 2015
Train Ride Event
Susquehanna Travellers
Saturday, June 20, 2015 until
Sunday, June 21, 2015
Musical Event
Kent Courtney
Sunday, June 28, 2015
Train Ride Event
Railroad Flyers
Wednesday, July 01, 2015 until
Saturday, July 04, 2015
Event
General Grant
Sunday, July 05, 2015
Train Ride Event
American Girl Day!
Wednesday, July 08, 2015
Train Ride Event
Hobo Run
Saturday, July 11, 2015
Train Ride Event
Susquehanna Travellers
Sunday, July 12, 2015
Musical Event
Reading Express Diesel at the Glen Rock Library
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Train Ride Event
Kent Courtney
Saturday, July 18, 2015
Train Ride Event
Kent Courtney
Sunday, July 19, 2015
Train Ride Event
General and Mrs. Lee
Saturday, July 25, 2015 until
Sunday, July 26, 2015
Train Ride Event
Kent Courtney
Saturday, August 01, 2015
Train Ride Event
Kent Courtney
Sunday, August 02, 2015
Train Ride Event
Reading Express Diesel at the Glen Rock Library
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Train Ride Event
Hobo Run
Saturday, May 23, 2015 until
Saturday, August 15, 2015
Train Ride Event
Hobo Run
Saturday, August 15, 2015
Train Ride Event
The Great Train Robbery Duo
Sunday, August 16, 2015
Train Ride Event
The James-Younger Gang, Train Robbery for Charity
Saturday, August 22, 2015
Fundraiser Event
Mark Twain
Saturday, August 29, 2015
Train Ride Event
Coupons
Save 20%
 Present this coupon to receive 20% off a single item at Main Street Station.
Coupon Valid: 4/22/2014 to 4/22/2015
Save $2
Present this coupon to receive $2 off daily trips, Wednesday through Friday to Glen Rock and/or Hanover Junction.  
Coupon Valid: 4/22/2014 to 4/22/2015
Save 10% or 20%
Present this coupon to receive 10% off a ride in the cab  to Glen Rock and 20% off a cab ride to Hanover Junction on the York #17. Must be 18 years or older. Must reserve ahead of time by calling 717-942-2370.
Coupon Valid: 4/22/2014 to 4/22/2015